Business School Tally Board

 I read this blog post on the Kellogg MBA students blog and was immediately drawn to the experience that Kellogg has to offer. I loved how lucid and relevant that criteria was to me, and I have used it as the heart of my ‘Business School Tally Exercise’. Because let’s face it most top schools have ‘A Rigorous Curriculum’, ‘Faculty Experts‘, ‘State of the art Infrastructure‘ so those of us applying to the top 15 need not worry about any of that but, it is vital that we go deep into each school’s unique offering and understand how we will benefit from it. ( honestly, those ridiculously expensive fees better be worth it) I am taking my time and doing thorough research on the schools. Most schools have comprehensive websites, amazing blogs to follow and the admissions office are forthcoming and patient with your questions, these give you a feel of what it’s like to go that particular school. If anyone know other ways to access information pleaaase let me know?

 The schools that I have short listed are as follows. My list is still a work in progress.

1.Kellogg

2.Stanford

3.Yale

4.Cornell

5.Ross

6.Haas  (Thanks to MBA reapplicant84’s advice)

Criteria

Keeping the kellogg MBA students blog in mind, here’s the tally board. I will be revisiting this every week and updating it. I will also do a post on my profile, so I can get all of your suggestions!

 Kellogg’s Innovation and Entrepreneurship Video ( KIEI) – I couldn’t embed the link in the entrepreneurship section of the table.

Image

 

24 thoughts on “Business School Tally Board

  1. I featured your blog (again) in my latest post; hope it drives some traffic for you.

    I have really been enjoying your posts!

  2. Best way of learning about a schools offering is speaking to current students. Try reaching out via the student clubs that interest you!
    Good list of schools no chance Tuck sneaks in there?

    • Hey! Thank you for the suggestion, I will give it a whirl. As for tuck, I haven’t really looked at it, to be honest. I am looking at schools that have a focus on marketing and social enterprise, tuck didn’t pop up. Am I missing out? Any thoughts?

      • Just cold email people I got a lot of useful info doing that. The websites frankly are all glossy marketing that doesn’t necessarily reflect the real product.

        Tuck is a general management school so it’s well rounded but it’s marketing faculty is pretty darn good. Look up Kevin Lane Keller he is a rock star marketing prof. I think tuck also places pretty well into marketing. As for social enterprise I’m not too familiar with that side. However I did know something who interned at the acumen fund in Africa doing social investing.

      • Ah yes. I have heard that about the websites, but I needed somewhere to start. Getting acquainted with a school’s offering does prepare you to ask the right questions! I have cold emailed people, I’ll start doing it more aggressively now, thank you so much for your input. 🙂

        I didn’t know about Tuck’s prowess in marketing, I will do some serious digging now! Thanks a bunch! Are you applying to tuck?

      • I was an applicant last season and I am matriculating at Tuck this fall!

      • Oh my god! I didn’t realize that, for some reason I thought you were applying this season. Well, congratulations!! 😀 safe to say you are the perfect person to ‘pick brain’ on Tuck? 🙂

      • Sure definitely willing to help. Just let me know. I would advice getting in touch with the marketing club though since they will be 2nd years they should have loads of info they can pass on!

  3. Thank you for giving a shout out to our blog and the checklist post, as well as for considering Kellogg as one of your potential MBA destinations! We would be happy to help connect you with a current student and to help answer any questions you may have. Just let us know!

    Best,
    Lauren, Kellogg Community Manager

    • Hi Lauren! I absolutely loved the MBA and Life checklist blog post! And Thank you so much, I am going to take you up on that offer. I have soo many questions! 🙂

      • Fantastic!

        Here is the contact information for Andrea Calderon in admissions: a-calderon@kellogg.northwestern.edu. She can answer any questions you might have about the Kellogg experience, as well as the application process.

        In addition, I invite you to explore the new youatkellogg.com, which was built by students and will allow you to connect with current Kellogg students.

        Hope this helps!

        Best,
        Lauren, Kellogg Community Manager

      • Wow! Thank you so much Lauren! 🙂 This will definitely help!

  4. Great list! Looks like you have done your research. I am happy to see you added Haas to your list 😉 I agree with Domotron, reaching out to students involved in clubs that you are interested in is by far one of the best ways to learn what a school has to offer. For social impact, you have your traditional powers, Yale SOM, Kellogg, Haas, etc., but don’t rule out other programs that don’t immediately pop up. If you need any connections, I would be happy to help where I can. Obviously, if you are interested in Anderson, that is where I could help most. Good luck!

    • MBAreapplicant84 thank you so much! 🙂 Haas and Cornell are 2 schools that I haven’t made headway in terms of connecting with current students, any associations there?

      • I have a few people that I talked with that helped me out. I believe they have graduated already, but they should still be able to provide you some good insight. Send me an email, mbareapplicant84[at]gmail.com.

  5. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline - Clear Admit Blog

  6. As a new Stanford GSB admit (Class of 2016), I say Stanford all the way, LOL! Love your B SCHOOL Tally Matrix. I so should have done one. Good luck!

    Video Blog: Ep 1. Getting into Stanford GSB – Tips: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2Pcn_VQuDo

    • Wow! Congratulations on Stanford! You must be on cloud nine.:) Could I bug you with questions about the school? Annd Thank you for the appreciation! The tally has made my life a little better, in terms of freezing on schools!

    • I just watched your vlog! Deep stuff! I love the way you think. I will link your video, when I do Tally board on Stanford! More people need to hear you! 🙂

      • Thank you Babble.

        I am definitely on cloud nine! A lot to get through but super excited. Sure, you can bug me with question. Just know that I can only share with you what I have from my application journey and new info I know as an admit.

        Drop me a mail (I think it should show on your side, I don’t want to publicise my email address). Or you can give me your email address and I’ll contact you.

  7. Hi,
    My name is Andres and I do online outreach for TopMBA.com.
    We are an online resource for MBA applicants. We provide MBA rankings, event information, business school profiles, and MBA admissions advice. We also allow for interaction through our new MBA forum and blog.
    I just wanted to inform you that you have been featured in our Weekly Pulse!
    See the link below:
    http://www.topmba.com/blog/topmba-weekly-pulse-july-3-2014
    Best,
    Andres

Leave a Reply

